Uncategorized

Graphic Design Garrett Loves, Pt. 1

darkershademagic_comp.jpg

I was walking around my classroom today, listening in on the group conversations while my students figured out what they wanted the short films they’re making for me to be about, and I literally stopped in my tracks when I saw this book cover. The student – quiet, shy, and one of those people you can just tell is nicer than 99% of everyone else – was noticeably confused why I had done so, so I explained. Which prompted an explanation of how much of a freak I am re: cover art and poster design and so on but, moreover, prompted a nice discussion about her book. And you know what? That small moment of connection was a bright spot in an otherwise totally normal, mundane day.

Things like that make it worth it.

Leave a Reply

