Uncategorized

Back.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted regularly on here, but I’ve been thinking more and more about how I need a place to curate those things – mostly words but music, art, film too – that give me life. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the word “ignite” and the passion it connotes. The past two weeks – in which I helped shepherd a group of 16 high schoolers through D.C. and the Inauguration and the Women’s March, in which I’ve started teaching two classes of 25ish freshmen and sophomores entirely on my own for the first time since I started (co-)teaching two years ago,  and in which I’ve begun to feel more acutely the moral aspects of the education profession (and how even – especially? – a 9th and 10th grade English classroom can be a place of grace) – have made me feel some sort of imperative to record the things that ignite me, both for my soul’s sake and to simply create, gather a place of Good in the world. So I’m attempting that.

Leave a Reply

