EOTY 2016

My Favorite Albums of 2016

I listened to a lot of music this year. It feels like the music I listened to was what kept me going through the highs and lows of 2016 (which was, you have to admit, a pretty horrible year on the whole). More so than in the past, oddly enough. These are the 50 albums I really connected with this year, with the usual disclaimer that the ranking, outside of the top 15 or so, is mostly arbitrary, that I probably forgot something, etc. (Atrocity Exhibition and Black Terry Cat are the only two placements that are really getting to me, because both are, I think, true achievements in their own way. Alas, I just discovered Rubinos and have yet to fully immerse myself in Atrocity Exhibition the way I feel I would need to to really connect with it. Regardless, both are very much worth seeking out and giving your time and attention.) I would like to write more about why I’ve felt so compelled this year by these artists, their music – how Blonde feels like a Kid A moment of sorts, of how Away functioned as a meditative space for me this year, how Instigator continues Kevin Devine’s exploration of the intersection between personal and the political (and features the best song he’s ever written, to boot), how Puberty 2 got me through the raging sadness that underpinned much of my year, how Cardinal is perhaps the best representation of mid-20s wandering/wondering that I’ve ever encountered, and so on and so on – but who knows if I’ll actually get the time to do so. Without further ado . . .

50. A Man Alive, Thao & The Get Down Stay Down
49. Pool, Porches
48. The Colour in Anything, James Blake
47. Coloring Book, Chance the Rapper
46. Centres, Ian William Craig
45. Atrocity Exhibition, Danny Brown
44. Is The Is Are, Diiv
43. Singing Saw, Kevin Morby
42. Black Terry Cat,
Xenia Rubinos
41. I Had A Dream That You Were Mine,
Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam

40. Lemonade, Beyonce
39. blackSUMMERS’night, Maxwell
38. Golden Sings That Have Been Sung, Ryley Walker
37. Jeffery,
Young Thug
36. Integrity Blues,
Jimmy Eat World
35. Solas,
Claire M. Singer
34. untitled unmastered.,
Kendrick Lamar
33. Emotions and Math,
Margaret Glaspy
32. Skeleton Tree,
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
31. Kiid, Mal Devisa
swf-blisters
30. Blisters, serpentwithfeet
p-p
29. Preoccupations, Preoccupations
clv
28. Case/Lang/Veirs, Case/Lang/Veirs
a1362186964_10
27. When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired, Mothers
B - 22.jpg
26. 22, A Million, Bon Iver
ll-twc
25. Tender Warriors Club, Lady Lamb
l-flotus
24. FLOTUS, Lambchop
ceg-py
23. Pretty Years, Cymbals Eat Guitars
AS - The Party
22. The Party, Andy Shauf
NR - Sirens.jpg
21. Sirens, Nicolas Jaar
A - Hopelessness
20. Hopelessness, Anohni
WO - Tween
19. Tween, Wye Oak
Shearwater_JetPlaneOxbow_3600
18. Jet Plane and Oxbow, Shearwater
TH - Goodness
17. Goodness, The Hotelier
a1783019177_10
16. No Burden, Lucy Dacus

AGO - NLAQ.jpg
16. Nobody Likes a Quitter, All Get Out
56a7557202bfa
15. Love Streams, Tim Heckerjr-w
14. Worry., Jeff Rosenstock
hgm-hlalhgm-v
13. Heart Like a Levee/Vestapol, Hiss Golden Messenger
CSH - Teens
12. Teens of Denial, Car Seat Headrest
1035x1035-8c74ca69
11. The Life of Pablo, Kanye West

OR - A.jpg
10. Away, Okkervil River
kd-i
9. Instigator, Kevin Devine
ao-mw
8. My Woman, Angel Olsen
DB - Blanco
7. Blanco, David Bazan
R - A Moon Shaped Pool
6. A Moon Shaped Pool, Radiohead
fo-b2fo-e
5. Blonde/Endless, Frank Ocean
anderson-paak-malibu
4. Malibu, Anderson. Paak
Erika_12JKT EPS_r3
3. Puberty 2, Mitski
pinegrove-cardinal-640x640
2. Cardinal, Pinegrove
david-bowie-blackstar
1. Blackstar, David Bowie


 

 

Leave a Reply

